Regional Minister Search Committee Update

Regional Minister Search Committee Update from the Regional Office:

Dear friends of the Christian Church (DOC) in Nebraska,

We are pleased to share with you action of the Regional Board regarding forming a Regional Minister Search Committee.

DATE                                    ACTION

9/24/16                     Approved Gayle Gengenbach (lay leader, Lincoln East CC) and Eileen Kunz (commissioned minister, Lincoln Havelock CC) as co-chairs

11/11/16                    Approved committee members Phyllis Dunlop (ordained minister, Elwood); Anne Pope (lay person, Elmwood); Daryl Lauber (ordained minister, Lincoln Bethany); Jay Mitchell (ordained minister, Scottsbluff); Daniel Zapata (Commissioned minister, Omaha Iglesia. (Please note Elwood and Elmwood are two different towns in two different parts of the Region.)

2/4/17                       Approved Bill Spangler-Dunning, Regional Minister in the Upper Midwest Region as the Regional Minister Search Consultant as recommended by the College of Regional Ministers in collaboration with the General Minister and President.

Committee Activities:

2/7/17                       Bill Spangler-Dunning conducted the orientation meeting for the committee.

3/28/17                    April Johnson, Minister of Reconciliation for the General Church will be conducting           Anti-Racism-Pro-Reconciliation Training.

February/March   Regular teleconference meetings are occurring.

The voices of our congregations are important in the search process.  Listening sessions will be held throughout the Region to hear what our churches feel are their strengths and what ministries excite them.  Gathering together for pray and conversation, we will dream, and connect to envision our future.

More information will be shared in the coming weeks with specific details about these gatherings.  We are looking forward to meeting with you. We covet your prayers as we move forward in a way that honors and glorifies God.


Gayle Gengenbach, Search Committee Co-chairEileen Kunz, Search Committee Co-chair